Ohio History Journal

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Minutes of the Meeting

Minutes of the Meeting

of the Ohio Academy of History

Columbus, April 2, 1955




The annual spring meeting of the Ohio Academy of History was held

at the Ohio State Museum, April 2, 1955.

Two sessions were scheduled for 10 A.M. The chairman of one, Wilfred

E. Binkley of Ohio Northern University, introduced Charles B. Forcey of

Miami University, who presented a paper entitled "Progressivism, Fore-

runner of Fascism?" Remarks were offered by Louis Filler of Antioch

College and Thomas LeDuc of Oberlin College. The other section was

conducted by Donald Grove Barnes of Western Reserve University. Two

papers were read: "The Addled Parliament of 1614: The Collapse of the

Elizabethan System" by Thomas L. Moir of Heidelberg College, and "The

Growth of Ministerial Responsibility to Parliament in Later Stuart England"

by R. Clayton Roberts of Ohio State University. Charles R. Mayes of Ohio

University was the discussant.

The luncheon at the Ohio State University Faculty Club was attended

by 111 persons, an increase of forty percent over 1954. William D. Over-

man of the Firestone Library and Archives, president of the Academy, pre-

sided. Harold J. Grimm of Indiana University and formerly of Ohio State

University, was presented the annual Certificate of Award in recognition

of his book, The Reformation Era, 1500-1650. Paul I. Miller of Hiram

College, chairman of the committee on awards, announced the choice of

this work as the outstanding historical achievement by a member of the

Academy in 1954. The luncheon address was then delivered by Paul A.

Varg of Ohio State University, whose subject was "The Missionary in

China and American Far Eastern Policy."

At 2 P.M. two more sessions took place at the Museum. One was a panel

discussion on "The Freshman History Course," directed by William L.

Wannemacher of Kent State University. Participants were Irwin Abrams of

Antioch College, Frank L. Esterquest of Western College, Paul I. Miller