Ohio History Journal

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Notes and Queries

Notes and Queries



Recent promotions, appointments, and retirements within the academic

community of Ohio historians include: Lester Lee appointed as an Assistant

Professor at Antioch College; Gary R. Hess will succeed Edmund J. Danzing-

er as Department Chair at Bowling Green State University; William R. Rock

has been named as a Graduate Advisor and Michael Moore as an Under-

graduate Advisor at Bowling Green State University; Virginia B. Platt, Profes-

sor Emeritus, was recently appointed to a full term on the Bowling Green

State University Board of Trustees; Thomas Knox, Ronald Seavoy, and Da-

vid Weinberg have been granted leaves of absence for all or part of the

1985-86 academic year by Bowling Green State University; Robert W. Twy-

man of Bowling Green State University has taken early retirement after thirty-

six-and-one-half years of service; James H. Satterwhite has been appointed

to teach European History at Bluffton College; Kenneth Davison of Heidel-

berg College has been reappointed to the Seneca County Museum Board;

Kent State University granted sabbatical leaves to Robert P. Swierenga and

Yeh-Chien Wang; John Snyder of Kent State University retired in June but

will continue to teach on a part-time basis; Joan Cadden will be on leave from

Kenyon College during 1985-86 in order to work on a book; Miami University

recently promoted Michael J. Hogan and Maynard William Swanson to Pro-

fessor; Kenneth J. Andrien, James R. Bartholomew, Alan D. Beyerchen,

Mansel Blackford, John C. Burnham, and Hao Chang will be on leave during

part or all of the 1985-86 year from The Ohio State University; Williamson

Murray and Carole R. Rogel have been granted leaves of absence from The

Ohio State University; Michael W. Curran of The Ohio State University has

been appointed Dean of the University College; The Ohio State University's

K. Austin Kerr and Joseph H. Lynch have been promoted to the rank of Pro-

fessor and Kenneth M. Hamilton to the rank of Assistant Professor with ten-

ure; Eve Levin, Randolph A. Roth, and David E. Dauer, joined the faculty

of The Ohio State University; Rio Grande College promoted both Marcella

B. Barton and Ivan M. Tribe to Associate Professor; Bogdan C. Novak and

Larry D. Wilcox of the University of Toledo will be on leave during the

1985-86 academic year; and Lloyd Lapp and Ivan Scott of the University of

Toledo have retired.

The Sixth Annual Symposium on Illinois History will be held November

29-30, 1985, in Springfield, Illinois. Papers and sessions will consider aspects

of the history, literature, art and culture, politics, geography, archaeology,

anthropology, and related fields of Illinois and/or the Ohio and Mississippi

Valleys. For details contact the Illinois State Historical Library, Old State

Capitol, Springfield, Illinois 62706.


The Ohio Academy of History will hold its annual meeting on April 19,

1986, at Capital University in Columbus, Ohio. If you wish to submit a paper

topic, submit a title and 100-word abstract to Erving E. Beauregard, Depart-

ment of History, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio 45469, prior to January

3, 1986.