Ohio History Journal

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Notes and Queries

Notes and Queries



The Fall Meeting of the Ohio Academy of History will be October 13-14,

1989, at Ohio University.


The Missouri Valley History Conference, sponsored by the University of

Nebraska at Omaha's History Department will be held March 8-10, 1990.

Those interested in further information concerning the conference should

contact Jerold Simmons, Program Coordinator, MVHC, Department of His-

tory, University of Nebraska at Omaha, Omaha, Nebraska 68182.


The Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission's Thirteenth Annual

Conference on Black History in Pennsylvania will be held May 4 and 5, 1990,

in Allentown, Pennsylvania. For more information contact: Black History

Conference Coordinator, Division of History, Pennsylvania Historical and

Museum Commission, Box 1026, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17108-1026.


Recent activities, awards, appointments, promotions, resignations, and

retirements, within the academic community of historians include: Keith L.

Bryant has been named professor and department head at the University of

Akron; Larry Simon joins the University of Akron as an assistant professor;

Bluffton College's James H. Satterwhite has received an IREX research grant

and a Fulbright Faculty Research Abroad Program grant and will be on leave

from December 1988 to November 1989; Bowling Green State University's

William R. Rock retired in June 1989 after thirty-one years in the department;

Fujiya Kawashima of Bowling Green State University recently did some

research in Korea with the aid of an International Society of Korea and

Academy of Studies grant; Ronald Pollitt of the University of Cincinnati won

the Ohio Academy of History's 1988 Teaching Award; John Heitmann of the

University of Dayton received the 1988 L. Kemper Williams Prize in Louisiana

History; Larry Schweikart of the University of Dayton has been promoted to

associate professor; James H. Krukones and Roger W. Purdy have been named

assistant professors at John Carroll University; Henry Leonard of Kent State

University received the 1988 College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished

Teaching Award; Kent State University's Felix Ekechi and William Howland

Kenney, III, have received NEH grants; Gerald Newman of Kent State

University has been promoted to professor; Louis Patras, Kent State

University-Stark Campus, has been promoted to professor; Stanley Garfinkel,

Kent State University-Geauga Campus, has been promoted to associate

professor; Constance Bouchard of Kenyon College recently received a grant

from the American Philosophical Society; Elliott J. Gorn of Miami University

has been granted tenure and promoted to associate professor; Jack Temple

Kirby succeeds Ronald E. Shaw as Miami University's W. E. Smith Professor

of American Economic Life and will be on leave during the 1989-90 second

semester; David M. Fahey and Allan M. Winkler of Miami University will be

on leave during the 1989-90 second semester; Mary Brennan, Tatyana

Nestorova-Matejic, and Thomas Pegram received temporary appointments as

instructors at The Ohio State University; Robert Baum of The Ohio State